Refossileer Spotlight, Day 1 — Ken Goldman!

Ken Goldman is two-for-two as a Fossil Lake veteran. His story in the first book, “C-C-C-Cold,” was a chilling tale of travelers stranded on a snowy mountain road. In this one, he brings us a more heart-warming tale of a man and his faithful dog.


There weren’t a stitch of clothes on it, and I figured maybe them decayed tatters ol’ Giddy chewed off to make the miles of transporting easier, or maybe they just plain tore off along the journey ‘cause he lugged that skeletal bastard all the way home ‘round Fossil Lake and through the driftin’ snow. Hoping to find some answers I tried followin’ him, at least as far as I were able. But ol’ Giddy, he wouldn’t have none of that. This job he clearly chose to tackle solo and he run clear past the lake, so I contented myself with that bony jigsaw and my trusty nail gun.— from “Fetch!” by Ken Goldman


* What inspired your piece in The Refossiling?

KG: My older brother’s late Labrador Retriever was named Gideon. He never brought home skeletal remains, and  he didn’t retrieve much.  He did leave a few things behind, however,  to let you know he was there. ‘Nuff said. 

* Least favorite seafood dish or delicacy  and why?

KG: I used to love mussels.  Could eat them by the plateful.  Unfortunately, mussels don’t love me. I can’t eat the little suckers without upchucking a week’s worth of groceries.

*Undersea or freshwater critter?

KG: I have a summer home at the beach (bought with the money from all those stories I’ve sold that have made me rich, of course.) I must be the only person who can watch the ocean for hours without going into it except to get my toes wet.  That’s because during the mornings, I see what the fishermen pull out of it just off shore.  Once, a few years ago,  I decided my anti-ocean attitude was stupid,  so I went in and got pretty far out.  Something alive and very slimy bumped into my leg.  I have no idea what it was,  but that was good enough for me to stay on the beach since. But the beach is STILL my favorite vacation destination.  Go figure.

* Where can readers and fans find more of your work?

KG: My novel OF A FEATHER can be purchased at http://www.amazon.com/Feather-Ken-Goldman-ebook/dp/B00HMR47OY/

My novella, DESIREE, is on Amazon also,  as are my short story anthologies  DONNIE DOESN’T LIVE HERE ANYMORE  and STAR-CROSSED.

My stories are also in anthologies you can find here : http://www.amazon.com/Kenneth-C.-Goldman/e/B004QVWTTE

Bring money.

* Share your best, or worst, body-of-water-related memory/experience!

KG: I would, but it’s too embarrassing.

* Current author and why?

KG: Many independent authors like myself you probably never heard of but should read.   Many are better than the pros.

*Current _____:

A. cause?

KG: Animal neglect and/or abuse,  hands down.

B. obsession?

KG: Unfortunately, that would be Facebook 

C. fandom?

KG: The old guard superheroes (Superman, Bat Man, Wonder Woman. Also, (God help me) MAD Magazine and (insert pig snort here) PLAYBOY.

D. crush?

KG: Would I be a dirty old man if I said Taylor Swift?

E. music?

KG: Anything from the ’60’s, especially the British groups. (Am I showing my age?)

F. craving?

KG: Chinese food. Moo Goo Poo anything. I don’t care how disgusting it sounds or looks.

G. peeve?

KG: Can’t stand those cartoon red and blue bears in the toilet paper ads.    Ick!  (One shows the toilet paper sticking to the bear’s butt.) Not crazy about “Flo”   in the Progressive ads either.

* What’re you working on, what is your process/routine like?

KG: I’m currently working on a novel about creepy things that live in a deep hole.  It’s less tacky than it sounds. My process?   I write when I feel like it, and when I don’t, I don’t. Some process, right? (Okay, I have also learned to be my own worst critic.   I’ll throw out a lot of stuff I don’t personally think will work.)

* What’s the weirdest object you own? Backstory!

KG: I have had a parrot for 32 years.  I don’t think he’s weird, but apparently some women I’ve dated disagree, and one insisted I give him up. (Instead I gave HER up.)  This goes back to when I was a kid.  For some unearthly reason I’ve always had a pet bird in the house.  My first novel, OF A FEATHER is about —guess what?

*Most useless advice you’ve ever seriously given or been given?

KG: Much as I enjoyed teaching while I was a teacher,  I wanted to be a writer first. My late father wouldn’t pay for my college tuition unless I went into teaching. He used to tell me “You can do both, You’ll write after you get home.” That never happened.  After teaching five classes a day, all I could do was sleep. I managed to write short stories,  so it wasn’t a total loss.  On the other hand, I was a pretty good teacher and it taught me to write better because I TAUGHT writing. So maybe the advice wasn’t so bad after all.

* What kind of question do you always wish these questionnaires would ask, and how would you answer it? 

KG: If asked by a beautiful woman,  “Can I come home with you?” My answer would be,  “No.  I’m too busy answering these questionnaires.”

 

Leave a Reply

