Refossileer Spotlight, Day 7 — E.S. Wynn

If a picture’s worth a thousand words (not when you compare artist and writer pay rates, it isn’t — ed), then here’s E.S. Wynn showing us an inside view of an author’s life in a 3k short story:

eswynn1 eswynn2 eswynn3


It was dusk when it happened. The planet’s twin suns were resting at the edge of the horizon, bathing the colony in just enough crimson light for us to see the columns as they rose from the dirt. – “Secrets in the Soil” by E.S. Wynn


* What inspired your piece in The Refossiling?

ESW: I love writing about alien worlds, and some of the most interesting fossils I’ve ever seen are the little coin-like ammonites you find sometimes in mineral stores. “Secrets in the Soil” combines a lot of things I like to write about, including the bureaucratic follies we might see associated with the frontier colonies of the future.

* Favorite time travel destination and why?

ESW: If I had a time machine, I would mostly use it to go to concerts. I’d pop into the bars and clubs of the past and check out the shows of bands I like before they were really even known.

* Where can readers and fans find more of your work?

ESW: You can find links to all of my books, projects in progress and free fiction over at www.eswynn.com

* Share your best, or worst, body-of-water-related memory/experience!

ESW: For my third date with my first wife, we went out to the lost coast (Northern California) and, while we were crossing the beach, we got a little too close to the surf and just about got swept out to sea. I don’t remember much– I remember running as hard as I could against thigh-deep water, yelling “grab on to me!” and dragging her to safety. Neither of us got hurt and in the end, it was actually kind of romantic.

* Who are your main creative influences, literary/artistic or otherwise?

ESW: When it comes to prose, my favorite influences are Storm Constantine, Peter Grandbois, Joe Haldeman, Samuel R. Delany, Cormac McCarthy, George Alec Effinger and Richard K. Morgan. I also listen to a lot of music while I write. My favorite internet radio station is Soma FM’s Groove Salad.

* Current cause/obsession/fandom/crush/music/craving/peeve and why?

ESW: Cause: Better pay and benefits for adjunct faculty. Why? Because they’re the farm laborers of the education system and they’re being ground into the dirt.

Obsession: Writing. Why? Because I can’t imagine not taking at least a little time every day to write. I’m addicted to it.

Fandom: Star Trek. Why? Because everyone should boldly go where no one has gone before. Also: Captain Janeway.

Crush: A certain beautiful, blue-eyed brunette I’ve been spending time with lately. Why? Because just looking into her eyes and seeing her smile is enough to take my breath away.

Music: The Correspondents, album: Puppet Loosely Strung. Why? Just listen to their song “Fear and Delight” and you’ll understand immediately.

Craving: Right now? Chicken Curry from Yeti Restaurant in downtown Davis, California. Why? Because that’s one amazing restaurant.

Peeve: Prescriptivists. Why? Because language is a living, breathing tool for artistic expression, not a stiff carcass in a glass box.

* What’re you working on, what is your process/routine like?

ESW: I always have a number of projects in progress. Nothing major on the table at the moment, but I am tinkering with a few different things. When I write, I follow my bliss. Whatever sounds the most interesting to work on at a given time is what I put my energy toward. I get the best flow that way.

Leave a Reply

