Refossileer Spotlight, Day 9 — D.J. Tyrer

Another Fossil Lake veteran, D.J. Tyrer  follows up last time’s eerie “Alchera” with an archaeological expedition to search for traces of an ancient culture in an unexpected place.


Maybe there’d been a warning written on it that he’d failed to read, or perhaps a warning placed on the tomb itself, obliterated by the elements. Of course, even had Hulke seen a warning, I doubt we’d have heeded it. Nobody believes in ancient curses … – “A Far Southern Land” by D.J. Tyrer


* What inspired your piece in The Refossiling?

DJT: I was inspired by real-life speculation about pre-European exploration and settlement – there are many fascinating theories that are just perfect to inspire stories!

* Favorite / least favorite ___________ and why?

A. extinct or prehistoric lifeform

DJT: I was obsessed with dinosaurs as a child, although I remember the Baluchitherium also caught my interest. Latterly, I have been very interested in extinct elephants and giraffids, as well as the prehistoric distribution of creatures such as lions, tigers and bears.

B. dinosaur-themed entertainment (book, movie, game, etc)

DJT: I love “Jurassic Park” the book and “Jurassic Park” the film – they’re two quite different beasts despite the shared ancestry, well adapted to their own environments, but equally entertaining.

C. aquatic-themed entertainment (book, movie, game, etc)

DJT: It’s impossible to pick a favourite – I just love books and films that are set on or under the water. I’m not sure why, as I have absolutely no desire to go on or underwater in real life!

D. undersea or freshwater critter

DJT: I am absolutely fascinated by sharks. They’re much misunderstood and maligned creatures that suffer far at human hands than humans have ever suffered at their teeth.

* Where can readers and fans find more of your work?

DJT: I’ve had fiction and poetry in a lot of zines and anthologies, as well as online, so the best places to start are my site at http://djtyrer.blogspot.co.uk/ which lists my recent and forthcoming appearances in print and my author page on Amazon.

* Who are your main creative influences, literary/artistic or otherwise?

DJT: It’s always difficult to decide where to stop such a list as there are so many writers, artists, musicians, poets and filmmakers that I love and whose work influences me to some extent, especially as I like to write in different genres. In terms of my primary genre output, core influences would include Robert W. Chambers, HP Lovecraft, Clark Ashton Smith, Arthur Machen, Stanley G. Weinbaum, Robert E. Howard, JRR Tolkien, the Brontes, Oscar Wilde and Lewis Carroll.

Leave a Reply

