Refossileer Spotlight, Day 12 — Stanley Webb

With an aptronym like Webb, it’s somehow fitting this author has a story in Teeming Terrors and an anecdote about spiders; but his tale in The Refossiling is just a peaceful night on the lake … or is it?


I still dream about that night. I was just a kid, out bullheading on the lake, and it happened like you said: I found a place where my anchor didn’t hit bottom. The monster rose beside my boat. The moon was dark, so I could hardly see it, but I smelled it; just as if the bottom of the lake had risen. – “Hellhole Fishing” by Stanley Webb


* What inspired your piece in The Refossiling?

SW: Hellhole Fishing was inspired by Oneida Lake’s complete lack of mystery.

* What is your favorite Aquatic-themed entertainment?

SW: That would be 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, by Jules Verne, as well as the Disney movie. Why? Because I wish that I had been Captain Nemo.

* Where can readers and fans find more of your work?

SW: On the websites Microhorror and Were-traveler; in the anthologies When Red Snow Melts, Daylight Dims 2, Beyond the Nightlight. I am also upcoming in Sensorama: Stories of the Senses, Teeming Terrors, and Ill-Considered Expeditions.

* Share your worst body-of-water related memory.

SW: When I was little, my father took me fishing on Scriba Creek. We anchored our canoe by sitting on the branches of riverbank shrubbery. Unfortunately, said shrubbery was full of spiders, which continually dropped into the boat while we fished. My father expressed his surprise that I did not stomp a hole in the canoe while killing them.

* Who are your main creative influences?

SW: In order of appearance, Toho productions, Jules Verne, Stephen King, and Richard Matheson.

* Current cause?

SW: The return of the giant monster movie, which has been critically ill-treated for some time.

* What are you currently working on, and what is your routine like?

SW: I’m working on several short stories, and have a giant monster novel on a back burner. I write bit by bit throughout the day, while doing chores, and caring for my son.

* What is the weirdest object that you own?

SW: All of my weird possessions were lost in childhood. My weirdness is currently internalized.

* Most useless advice that you have received.

SW: A childhood friend continually advised me to be cool.

Leave a Reply

