Refossileer Spotlight, Day 14 — Patrick Lacey

Sometimes, a particular story comes along and, for whatever reason, really digs right under the mind’s skin to latch on.  That’s what Patrick Lacey’s “Critter Marrow” did to a certain editor, who hopes it’ll do the same to you!


From down the hall there was a crash and then his door was opening wide. He was sure it was the faceless ones or the dog-thing coming to shackle his limbs and take their time with his pain. – “Critter Marrow” by Patrick Lacey


* What inspired your piece in The Refossiling?

PL: Junk mail. It’s weird. And kind of creepy. Where’s it come from? How’s it end up in your inbox when it had thousands of other places to go? What about those odd subject lines that usually don’t make any sense? Words and sentences that seem random except they nag at you, like they might have some secret meaning if you just think on them hard enough. But maybe you don’t want to know the meaning. Maybe it’s best the words stay jumbled. Put that all together and you’ve got something that gives me a major case of the heebie-jeebies. Plus I wanted an excuse to open my story with something nasty and I didn’t need to look farther than my junk folder for inspiration.

* Favorite dinosaur-themed entertainment and why?

PL: There’s an old Sega Genesis game called Dinosaurs for Hire in which you play as an upright walking dinosaur, wield a car-sized machine gun, and shoot your way through evil ninjas and robots. If you’re not already sold on the idea, you can’t be helped.

* Where can readers and fans find more of your work?

PL: I’ve had stories published most recently in Widowmakers (the James Newman benefit anthology), Bugs from Great Old Ones Publishing, and Techno-Horror from Dark Hall Press (meaning technology, not techno music, though I’d be fine with that as well). Samhain Publishing is releasing my debut novella, A Debt to be Paid, sometime this year. I have an Amazon author page with everything else I forgot to mention if you’re so inclined to visit. I’m also on Facebook and Twitter and don’t often bite.

* Share your best, or worst, body-of-water-related memory/experience!

PL: When I was a young lad, I was prone to ear infections. Meaning I got at least one per month. My doctors always told me to avoid getting water in them because that only made matters worse. Easiest place to get water in your ears? The shower. Meaning every time I bathed I assumed my ear drum was growing more and more inflamed by the moment. Showers are bodies of water too, right? No? Well, they can still be terrifying.

* Current obsession and why?

PL: House Hunters. There, I said it. What’s more entertaining than watching people complain about things that can easily be fixed or ask such stupid questions you fear for the future of the human race? A great example would be the episode where a woman asked, rather nonchalantly, what an air conditioner was. Classic American television right there.

* What’re you working on, what is your process/routine like?

PL: I’m working on a novel (horrible working title: Slasher Flick) about a seedy director whose newest film looks a bit too realistic. I’m obsessive when it comes to my routine. I have to write six days each week (though it usually ends up being all seven) and I have to reach a minimum of 1,000 words. Once the ball is rolling on a longer project such as a novel, I can’t stop the darn thing. It takes over my life until the first draft is on paper. Then I rinse and repeat with the second draft and so forth.

* What’s the weirdest object you own? Backstory!

PL: I have an envelope filled with my baby teeth that my parents kept. I’ve held onto it all these years not because it’s sentimental but because I’m afraid to throw it away. You just never know when human cloning will be a thing. Also, can you curse someone if you have one of their teeth? Maybe I’m just being paranoid.

* What kind of question do you always wish these questionnaires would ask, and how would you answer it?

PL: I wish they’d ask what kind of question I always wish these questionnaires would ask. Then I could have some sarcastic answer that would be moderately funny. Maybe someday.

One thought on “Refossileer Spotlight, Day 14 — Patrick Lacey

  1. Pingback: THE REFOSSILING | Patrick C. Lacey

Leave a Reply

