Refossileer Spotlight, Day 15 — Brian M. Sammons

Editor extraordinaire Brian M. Sammons takes some time out from his hectic schedule now and then for some writing … inviting us on a lovely family vacation to a certain most-cheerfulest-planetary-location!


When Billy was passed by someone dressed in blue doctor scrubs complete with paper mask, rodent-ear hat, and blue latex gloves smeared with wet blood, he once again thought about running, but knew it was too late for that. – “Returning Magic to the Kingdom” by Brian M. Sammons


* What inspired your piece in The Refossiling?

BMS: It came almost fully formed from a wacked-out dream that I had. As to where that dream came from, I have no idea.

* Favorite / least favorite time travel destination and why?

BMS: Favorite would probably be the future, as I would like to see where the world is heading long after I have left it. Least favorite would be medieval times. Yes, despite being a fantasy/D&D nerd from way back, I think those times would be dirty, depressing, and deadly. No fun at all.

* Where can readers and fans find more of your work?

BMS: Most easily in the following books: World War Cthulhu, Dark Rites of Cthulhu, Undead & Unbound, Eldritch Chrome, Steampunk Cthulhu, Horror for the Holidays, In the Court of the Yellow King, Once Upon an Apocalypse, Deepest, Darkest Eden, Dead but Dreaming 2, and well, that’s enough for now, I guess.

* Share your best, or worst, body-of-water-related memory/experience!

BMS: My worst water experience was almost drowning as a little kid. After that, I sort of avoid deep water, and I don’t really have a best memory of it.

* Who are your main creative influences, literary/artistic or otherwise?

BMS: H.P. Lovecraft, Stephen King, and Robert Bloch all jump to mind. There are countless others, but those three are always running around in the back of my mind in some capacity or another.

* Current fandom and why?

BMS: Game of Thrones. I’ve never read the books, but I love the TV show to death. I eat up every episode when they come out and watch them again and again when they come out on disc. It appeals to the old D&D nerd inside of me I mentioned earlier, and the characters are just so damn fun. I can’t get enough of it, and the copious amount of sex and violence doesn’t hurt, either.

* What’re you working on, what is your process/routine like?

BMS: I always have a million and one projects going on at the same time. The editor work has really taken over and has overshadowed my writing, and becoming the Managing Editor of Dark Regions Press new Weird Fiction line sure hasn’t helped with that.

* What’s the weirdest object you own? Backstory!

BMS: A dozen Cthulhu statues/idols? Two screen accurate Jason (from the Friday the 13th movies) masks? A voodoo doll I made myself when I was twelve? I have so much weird stuff in my house. As for the backstory, I’ve always been both a horror fan and an avid collector.

* Most useless advice you’ve ever seriously given or been given?

BMS: All my advice is golden. Ha. As far as some useless advice I’ve been given, that was about how to approach/work for publishers. Too long to get into, but the advisor was totally wrong. Now days I pretty much do everything the exact opposite way he told me how to do it and I think I’m doing okay.

Leave a Reply

