Refossileer Spotlight, Day 18 — Scott R. Jones

Whether it’s Lovecraftian smut, R’lyehian spirituality, or King in Yellow lesbian poetry slams, Scott R. Jones has got you covered!


The numbness became a dream of viscous ruby seas, of floating, and I was but one floating thing among many, so many, floating soft and aimless with the wrack and detritus of a thousand ruined worlds fallen to the waves that rolled unheeded beneath blackened stars. – “Perfect Ten” by Scott R. Jones


* What inspired your piece in The Refossiling?

SRJ: Perfect Ten was inspired by far too many years in the slam poetry scene and Chamber’s The King in Yellow. Both things draw a lot from the genuine expression of “truth” and both have no idea what the word means. I found the intersection of slam night histrionics with Hastur irresistible! Either that, or I just wanted an excuse to kill an entire room of poets all at once. I’m conflicted, obviously.

* Favorite / least favorite ___________ and why?

Extinct or prehistoric lifeform

SRJ: Paleobatrachus, a prehistoric proto-frog. Mostly because this was pretty much the first Latin animal name to come out of my son’s mouth. Thanks Dinosaur Train!

Dinosaur-themed entertainment (book, movie, game, etc)

SRJ: Not Dinosaur Train, for obvious reasons (see above) … Sid & Marty Kroft’s Land of the Lost, probably. Because it’s bonkers.

* Where can readers and fans find more of your work?

SRJ: I’ve had stories in Innsmouth Magazine and Pseudopod, and upcoming in the anthologies Flesh Like Smoke, The Summer of Lovecraft, and hopefully others. You can get my collections and my book of non-fiction auto-ethnographical spirituality, When The Stars Are Right: Towards An Authentic R’lyehian Spirituality, from Martian Migraine Press.

* Share your best, or worst, body-of-water-related memory/experience!

SRJ: I was big into snorkeling as a kid. Never a good swimmer, I liked the freedom of breathing through a tube, and the speed of giant flippers. I did most of my swimming at a lake near our house. One summer, I was treading water way out in the middle of the lake, where it was maybe 50 feet deep and nothing but weeds and crabgrass down there. I took my mask off to clean it and it slipped from my grasp and sank into the black muck. Total bummer; that thing had cost, like, $30 of my own newspaper-route money. I tried to dive for it again and again but never found it, couldn’t hold my breath long enough.

Now, lakes aren’t big enough to have tides. So, how is it that the next summer I found the very same mask washed up on the shore while I was hunting for crawdads? Weird. Lakes are weird.

* Who are your main creative influences, literary/artistic or otherwise?

SRJ: Lovecraft for his monsters. Borges for his ideas and dry, perfect wit. Burroughs for his junkie energy. Philip K Dick for his brutal, unfailing honesty and openness to the miraculous.

* Current ________ and why?

Obsession

SRJ: Working to get true R’lyehian Spirituality out into the world.

Crush

SRJ: ladycrush: Emma Stone for the foreseeable future; mancrush: My wife and I just finished watching Tom Hiddleston in Only Lovers Left Alive, and I gotta say, that’s a handsome English fella.

Music

SRJ: I’m currently trying my hand at some New Wave sword-and-sorcery stories, and I’m finding that The Sword’s Warp Rider album is really helping with that.

Leave a Reply

