Refossileer Spotlight, Day 22 — Pete Sutton

Joining us, the author of a … disturbing … tale of youthful discovery and romance, Pete Sutton!


I decided to call her Judy. It was a name I liked; I’d told some of the other boys that I had a girlfriend called Judy. I could tell them now we’d found a secret place together. — “The Body in the Lake,” by Pete Sutton


* What inspired your piece in The Refossiling?

PS: A walk through the English countryside and taking shelter in a ruined house from an inquisitive bull…

* Favorite / least favorite ___________ and why?

A. extinct or prehistoric lifeform

PS: Favorite – giant sloth, it’s so improbable

Least favorite? Not sure I have one to be honest, the passenger pigeon perhaps, I’ve never trusted pigeons

B. dinosaur-themed entertainment (book, movie, game, etc)

PS: I have a soft spot for the first Jurassic park and the black & white King Kong

C. aquatic-themed entertainment (book, movie, game, etc)

PS: The Life Aquatic – Wes Anderson film

D. undersea or freshwater critter

PS: Squid – I’m a sucker for tentacles

E. vacation destination

PS: Different every year – last favorite was Chile

F. time travel destination

PS: A week last Wednesday

G. seafood dish or delicacy

PS: I will (and have) eaten all sorts (including a variety of insects, snakes and other exotic meats). Eating fat prawns freshly caught in the south of Spain was memorable, fried silkworm larvae in South Korea were surprisingly good too.

* Where can readers and fans find more of your work?

PS: I am currently thinly published (having only recently started writing) but more stories can be found in Airship Shape and Bristol Fashion by Wizards Tower Press and North by Southwest by Tangent books (coming in March). I have a short story collection hopefully coming out this year and am working on a novel. I’m also a contributing editor to Far Horizons e-magazine so you can find a few of my stories there –

https://www.joomag.com/en/newsstand/far-horizons-tales-of-sci-fi-fantasy-and-horror/M0194431001395480479

http://wizardstowerpress.com/books-2/anthologies/airship-shape-bristol-fashion/

* Share your best, or worst, body-of-water-related memory/experience!

PS: Both might be the same? In Hungary there is a large spa lake, I forget the name, hot waters, spent the day relaxing only to spot a sign that I should have read on the way in that said something like -“this lake is radioactive, you should spend no more than 20 minutes swimming”!

* Who are your main creative influences, literary/artistic or otherwise?

PS: I’m going to say Jeff Vandermeer, not for style or even for his stories, as good as they are, but for the huge amount of recommendations he’s given me over the years. I must also say that Wonderbook by Jeff is a brilliant writing guide

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Wonderbook-Illustrated-Creating-Imaginative-Fiction/dp/1419704427

* Current ________ and why?

A. cause

PS: Open rights and liberty – I don’t like the trend since 9/11 attacking our rights!

E. music

PS: Olafur Arnolds because it’s great music to write to!

F. craving

PS: Merquen- a Chilean spice made from smoked chillies, so good on scrambled eggs!

* What’re you working on, what is your process/routine like?

PS: Currently working on a serial called “Tales for the Ferryman” for Far Horizons, an anthology called “Former Heroes” and a novel with the working title of “Seven Deadly Swords”

I’ve heard that there are such things as routines and processes but don’t think the way I write merits such grand explanations! I am a very inconsistent writer snatching writing time as and when I can, even in a good week I don’t write every day

Leave a Reply

