Refossileer Spotlight, Day 26 — Kerry G.S. Lipp

kerrysquid

In case anybody wonders what the G.S stands for …


I don’t hate her. I don’t even not like her. It’s just I like to play games, too. God knows she plays her own all the time. – “Playing Games” by Kerry G.S. Lipp


* What inspired your piece in The Refossiling?

KL: I guess the differences between men and women and the games they play. Probably some personal experience in here too. I’m pretty much cursed in the relationship world, so it was fun to turn frustration into such a tongue in cheek story. I only set out to write a 250-word piece of flash but it got a little bigger, and more violent.

* Favorite / least favorite ___________ and why?

A. extinct or prehistoric lifeform

KL: horseshoe crabs are pretty cool

C. aquatic-themed entertainment

KL: Deeper by James A Moore is a fantastic water horror novel.

D. undersea or freshwater critter

KL: I really like frogs and squid.

E. vacation destination

KL: Aruba, the snorkeling there is awesome, and they have gambling.

F. time travel destination

KL: Tough one. I’ve been to Rome, I think I’d like to see what it was like back in the empire days.

G. seafood dish or delicacy

KL: Fried shrimp, deviled crab, and sushi. Now I’m hungry

* Where can readers and fans find more of your work?

KL: I’ve got an Amazon page here. I’m in several anthologies now, hopefully some longer stuff will be coming later this year. Readers are always welcome! http://www.amazon.com/Kerry-G.S.-Lipp/e/B00DTKTM1G/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1422946386&sr=8-2-ent

* Share your best, or worst, body-of-water-related memory/experience!

KL: It’s a fantastic story, one I’d like to write as creative non-fiction someday, but this is the gist. When I was 21 or 22, I drank way too much at a Cincinnati Bengals football game and got separated from my ride and couldn’t find the car. I ended up swimming across part of the Ohio river because I couldn’t find a bridge. I almost died. That was also my “you are not immortal” epiphany moment all young people have sooner or later.

* Who are your main creative influences, literary/artistic or otherwise?

KL: Richard Laymon, Jack Ketchum, Jeff Strand, Edward Lee, and I’ve never even seen one of his movies all the way through, but I met Fred Vogel a year ago and listened to him talk for a while and have mad respect for that guy. Also, the Mortal Kombat video game franchise is another big one. I’ve been an MK die hard since the first game came out in 1992. I was nine. Haven’t missed a game in 23 years.

* Current ________ and why?

A. cause

KL: Encouraging people to quit smoking. I did it cold turkey almost a year and a half ago. I don’t even miss it. Anyone can lay them down.

B. obsession

KL: Mario Kart 8 for Wii u

C. fandom

KL: Cutthroat Kitchen. I wish there were more seasons on Netflix!

D. crush

KL: I don’t even know where to start. All of them.

E. music

KL: Machine Head

F. craving

KL: Seems like I always want pizza.

G. peeve

KL: Calling people “ignorant, uneducated etc” even if that’s true, insulting them like that is not the first step toward a resolution or changing their opinion or even finding common ground. And the “if you don’t 100% agree with me you’re 100% wrong” mindset that seems so prevalent on Facebook these days.

* What’re you working on, what is your process/routine like?

KL: I’m editing a novel and am about to submit a co-authored novel with a friend named Ken MacGregor. We are calling it “vulgar urban fantasy.” It’s a lot of fun. My process used to be awesome, I’d crank out 40,000 or so words a month, but right now it sucks. I’ve been focusing on some other aspects of my life that have taken center stage and though I still write plenty, I need to get better with habit, process, routine.

* What’s the weirdest object you own? Backstory!

KL: I have a stuffed giant squid that is over 6 feet tall. My mom made it for me for Christmas last year. She did an awesome job. I named him Billy the Squid and took him to a convention last year. He didn’t help sell any books, but he did some pics. It was a fun.

* Most useless advice you’ve ever seriously given or been given?

KL: “Blah blah blah happens when you least expect it.” I’ve found that whatever “it” is usually happens when you work your ass off for it.

* What kind of question do you always wish these questionnaires would ask, and how would you answer it?

KL: Nothing this time. But I would like to (as kiss assy as this is gonna sound) thank you for everything you’ve done for me. You’ve given me a lot of opportunity and advice and feedback. I’ll never forget it and I’ll work with/for you any day. (Ed: d’awwww, thanks!)

Leave a Reply

